History of Nagpur

Nagpur is located in the Indian state of Maharashtra. According to the excavations at Drugdhamma the history of Nagpur starts from 8th century BC. The name Nagpur sultantoto was derived from the name of the River Nag that flows through this region. The name Nagpur first appeared in the inscriptions on copper plates that were discovered at the Devali region. These plates belonged to the 10th century AD.

Nagpur was ruled by the Vakataka dynasty in 4th century BC. Then various dynasties including Badami Chalukyas, Rashtrakutas and Yadavas ruled over this place. During the period of Yadava dynasty, in 1296 AD, Allauddin Khilji invaded the place and captured it. Later in 1317 it came under the control of the Tughlaq Dynasty. Mughal Empire ruled over the place from 17th century.

Bakht Buland, the prince of Gond Kingdom of Deogarh and Nagpur established the town of Nagpur. He was succeeded by Chand Sultan. Chand Sultan made Nagpur as his capital. Wali Shah, the illegitimate son of Bakht Buland came to throne in 1739 after the death of Chand Sultan and so the widow of Chand Sultan sought the help of the Maratha ruler Raghuji Bhonsle of Berar. She wanted her sons Akbar Shah and Burhan Shah to get the throne. Raghuji Bhonsle fought against Bakht Buland and fulfilled the wish of the widow of Chand Sultan.

In 1743, Rahoji Bhonsle conquered Deogarh and Chanda. Raghoji II joined Peshwas in 1803 and fought with British in the Second Anglo Maratha War. After his death in 1816, his son Parsaji was killed by Mudhoji II. In 1817, Mudhoji II joined Peshwa in the Third Anglo Maratha War against British. British defeated them. Following the war, Raghoji III the grandson of Raghoji II was put on the throne and he continued his rule till 1840. He died in 1853 without an heir and according to the Doctrine of Lapse, the whole region of Nagpur came under the control of British.

The Nagpur Province included the regions of Nagpur, Chhattisgarh and Chhindwara. It came under the administration of the Central Provinces. Nagpur was made as the capital of Central Provinces. The first textile mill at Nagpur was started by Tata Group on 1st January 1877. In the Nagpur session of Indian National Congress in 1920, non-cooperation movement was launched. RSS was founded in Nagpur in 1925.

Categorized as casino

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.